free to be you { 3.5.13 }

5 Mar

While jogging on the West Side Highway I approached a middle-aged woman…from afar I couldn’t tell exactly what she was doing. It was possible she was jogging but as I got closer it was clear she had planted herself in this one spot  and was dancing, no actually rocking out to whatever was blaring in her ears. I’m not talking just moving her feet to the beat, she was full on moving every limb…head swaying up, down, left and right and her wild curly blonde hair followed chasing her head movements. She flashed me a smile while marching, tapping, swaying and gyrating to the beat and made me run faster with enthusiasm. Thirty minutes later, on my way back down, I passed her again. Still doing the same thing but her head was down, she was deep in the zone and didn’t see me. I thought later how awesome it was she was so carefree and spirited. It happened again the next day when a girl was belting out songs from her iPod. This particular lady was energetically and loudly participating in the song, carrying on as if she were on her own stage that just happened to be moving around the West Village.

Both were magical and wonderful to witness!

 

2 Responses to “free to be you { 3.5.13 }”

  1. MOM March 5, 2013 at 5:02 pm #

    Sorta reminds me of a certain someone being offered a quarter to STOP singing on the street…

  2. sunnybabykiss March 5, 2013 at 10:30 pm #

    FABULOUS! Love it!!

Leave a Reply

The Wonderist

Your Daily Dose of Feel-Good

bleecker street diaries

my blog. my life. my diary.

Refinery29

my blog. my life. my diary.

Heart of Light

my blog. my life. my diary.

La Buena Vida

my blog. my life. my diary.

the daily muse

my blog. my life. my diary.

Love Taza

my blog. my life. my diary.

A Cup of Jo

my blog. my life. my diary.

