family traditions { 5.14.13 }

14 May

275_22951330086_1467_nFamily traditions…when you’re a kid “in” the tradition, really experiencing it in all its guts & glory, you probably hated it but looking back years later you actually start to consider passing them down.

Let me share one.

I’ll start by saying this is my memory of it, which doesn’t necessarily mean it’s totally accurate. I’ll be curious to hear what my parents and sisters remember and how all our memories align or if they even do. There was a period when our Sunday morning wake up call was a record playing Starlight Express while my Dad was yelling along (or was that singing?) and belting out the words “choooooooo chooooooo, engine of love”. Now for those who don’t know what I’m talking about, Starlight Express is an Andrew Lloyd Webber musical about some sort of toy train that comes to life and is performed by actors, each portraying a different car of the locomotive, on roller skates…yeah I know, amazing! So, that’s what we’d hear to get us out of bed and energized while we begrudgingly got dressed for church. So there it went for weeks, months or maybe even years…the needle would drop on the dusty record (that’s right, a record player) and the glorious sound of song would fill the house and on cue the Sunday morning annoying family tradition would begin….and maybe, just maybe, if I was feeling particularly pleasant I’d crack a smile and sing along.

I seem to remember it happening again just a few years ago on some weekend when we were all home, Easter perhaps, and there may have been boyfriends home too? This time though, with time on my side, when the music started it wasn’t an annoying family tradition it was the AWESOME family tradition!

3 Responses to “family traditions { 5.14.13 }”

  1. rgarrett518 May 14, 2013 at 9:47 am #

    OH YEAH!!!!!!

  2. Becca May 14, 2013 at 11:27 am #

    I love it! Happy to say that I have witnessed and maybe even been a part of some Garrett traditions along the way. Oh, and I remember the rolling eyes when the traditions weren’t so fun!

  3. Jill Pendleton May 15, 2013 at 3:49 pm #

    Love this memory!

Leave a Reply

The Wonderist

Your Daily Dose of Feel-Good

bleecker street diaries

my blog. my life. my diary.

Refinery29

my blog. my life. my diary.

Heart of Light

my blog. my life. my diary.

La Buena Vida

my blog. my life. my diary.

the daily muse

my blog. my life. my diary.

Love Taza

my blog. my life. my diary.

A Cup of Jo

my blog. my life. my diary.

